Calculate the final velocity of an object accelerating towards a mass

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of final velocity for an object accelerating towards a mass from a distance with an initial velocity. The use of calculus and conservation of energy is mentioned, and the correct formula for calculating gravitational potential energy is given. The conversation also addresses the effects of changing acceleration due to gravity and the importance of using the correct formula in calculations.
wildkat7411
I need to be able to calculate the final velocity of an object accelerating towards a mass from a distnce with an initial velocity. From my little knowledge of calculus, I am only a junior in high school, i have figured out that this is probably a derivitive problem. But i have no knowledge of how to solve these kinds of equations. If I am right would some one please walk me through it step-by-step. If I'm wrong, please correct me and show me how to do it step by step. This is not a homework problem but a problem i made up to challenge myself. The problem is i think I am in way over my head. So any help would be amazing. Thanks

Astronomy news on Phys.org

No, I think all you need here is to apply conservation of energy,

[tex]\Delta KE = -\Delta PE[/tex],

where PE is the gravitational potential energy between the two objects.

But since acceleration due to gravity increases as the distance between the two objects decreases, you can't use PE=massxgravityxheight since the acceleration is constantly changing for a given height. or does that not matter? I worked it out and i got that an object of mass one kilogram starting from rest at a distnce of 3.8x10^8 meters would be traveling at 1450 m/s at the point of impact, disregarding air resistance.

wildkat7411 said: