Can Anyone Master Math and Physics for a Career in Computer Engineering?

In summary, the speaker is a freshman in college considering major options. They have a love for math and science but did not invest much in them during high school. They are now interested in computer engineering, but are unsure if they have a natural aptitude for math and physics or if it can be learned through hard work and passion. They are seeking advice from others who have taught themselves to become proficient in math and interested in pursuing a career in software development.
Qatra
I am a freshman in college and I'm currently considering all of my options for a major.

I love math and science, but didn't invest very much of myself into them when I was in high school. Granted, the only subjects that I never got below a B in were science and math, but it wasn't at the forefront of my mind. I love computers and am absolutely fascinated with both hardware and software development, so have been considering a computer engineer major for some time now. I've been asking around, especially my father who has 2 degrees in mathematics, but have yet to find a solid answer to my question: Are math and physics something that you are innately good at (which some people hint at), or if you apply yourself and have a passion for them, you can master and succeed. I find that, especially when it comes to school, if I apply myself and delve earnestly into the work, I catch on very quickly and develop a concrete understanding of the subject matter.

I mostly want to know if I am setting myself up for failure by dedicating myself to computer engineering. The work load is not what is daunting, but rather the prospect of me simply "not getting it" after an honest attempt. What are some thoughts/experiences of people who never considered themselves a "math" person, but learned and taught themselves to become one?

Thank you kindly.

Engineering news on Phys.org