Can I enroll in a physics PhD program after BS in engineering?

In summary, the speaker has a bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from a university in India and studied physics in Senior Secondary. However, due to lack of choice in major/minor subjects, their knowledge in physics is equivalent to that of a high school student. They considered pursuing an M.Sc. in Physics but realized they need more practice. They are wondering if they can enroll in a PhD program with no research experience and what they can do to change this. The other person suggests that the speaker's knowledge in physics may be higher than they think due to the overlap with engineering courses.
JOULEJATT
I have a bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from a good university in India. I studied physics in Senior Secondary(10+1,10+2). But I have no individual research experience in physics at bachelors level because in the engineering college we had no choice of major/minor subjects like they get is U.S. or other countries. My knowledge in Physics is equivalent to that of a high school student. I thought of getting admission in M.Sc. Physics but realized that I need a lot of practice to be good at the subjects that form the base of those in the masters course. Can I enroll for a PhD program after my bachelors with no research experience. If no, what should I do to change it?

Physics news on Phys.org
JOULEJATT said:
My knowledge in Physics is equivalent to that of a high school student...Can I enroll for a PhD program?

No.

Even if you were accepted, you would not be able to complete the program.

Likes micromass
How do you only physics knowledge at the high school level if you have a degree in engineering? There is a huge overlap, especially with mechanical engineering and physics...

Likes russ_watters