Can I get list of physics textbooks

In summary, Kyle found a website that lists physics textbooks that different universities use for their undergraduate students. He also found a website that has preprints of the text books so that he can get a jump on the material. He recommends that someone do this so that they can go to school without attending a classroom lecture.
zeronem
Hello, I have a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering. I just recently decided I wanted to get a masters degree in physics but that won't happen cause I'm a homeowner paying a high mortgage while working half a year. While I only work half a year I doubt I could pull it off but it's tempting.

I was wondering if someone can give me a good list of physics textbooks used by various universities for a student under a typical 4 year degree plan so I could have something to work with on my free time.

I would appreciate this a lot.

Thank you,
Kyle

Physics news on Phys.org
Try Gerald 't Hooft's website here:

http://www.staff.science.uu.nl/~gadda001/goodtheorist/

Also Leonard Susskind's Theoretical Minimum books and online lectures would be good. They are geared for folks who have some background and want to recover what they thought they forgot but never learned. :-)

Currently, he has two books on Classical Mechanics and Quantum Mechanics with a third on the way.

Also there's this book which is coming out soon by Kip Thorne and Roger Blandford:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0691159025/?tag=pfamazon01-20

You can find preprints online to get a jump on the text. The focus is on using geometric principles to understand physics.

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes Frimus and Demystifier