Can Software Engineering Contribute to Solving Environmental Chemistry Problems?

In summary, the conversation discusses using software to help solve the Carbon Dioxide problem and other environmental issues. There is a suggestion to create simulation software for modeling chemical reactions to transform CO2 into a less harmful substance. However, the conversation also mentions that actively removing CO2 from the atmosphere is not a practical solution due to the amount of energy it would require. It is also noted that plants do not use CO2 to produce oxygen, but rather they use water molecules. The conversation concludes with the idea that using sunlight to split water and absorb CO2 is a more efficient way to address the issue.
MikeFromOhio
I am a software engineer of 20 years and would love to use my skills to somehow help work on the Carbon Dioxide problem (or other problems that could help the environment).

I was wondering if simulation software might be written that would allow one to model various processes that attempt to transform CO2 into something not so harmful for the environment.

I was thinking of writing an extendable simulator package where one could add new models (of atoms and/or elements and/or compounds). The software would also have RULES about how such elements would combine or react. Based on such rules, the software could then try out various combinations of LEFT-SIDEs involving CO2 and other element-models. The rules would then be evaluated to provide the RIGHT-SIDE of the equation for each left-side combination.

Maybe such modeling software already exists?
Is it possible to capture the rules mentioned above?
Are there other ways software is being used to help solve such problems?

Chemistry news on Phys.org