Can't shake the feeling I should be in Physics....

• Other
  • Thread starter Boon
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary: So while it is a long and challenging journey, I don't think there is anything that can really scare you. In summary, while it may be possible to gain entry into a theoretical physics PhD with an undergraduate in experimental physics, it takes a lot of dedication and hard work.
Boon
I graduated with a first class honors undergraduate in experimental Physics from the top university in my country - the degree was plainly called Physics but the university does offer a Theoretical Physics course too. After a year of unemployment and not knowing what to do in life, I enrolled for a taught MSc in Computer Science / Software Engineering, being where "all" the jobs are. I graduated with a first class honors degree and I've been working for two and a half years now in a major international technology corporation as a software engineer. So far so good.

Don't get me wrong, I find the engineering very enjoyable - apart from the stress, but I always find myself yearning to understand more physics and mathematics. I'm the type that enjoys sitting in an armchair reading or discussing deep, fundamental physics and the nature of the world. From time to time I'll try read up on mathematics or physics from a textbook, or dig out my old college notes for a refresher or to try really learn it this time (I've forgotten a lot of it). There's almost this deep sense of guilt/regret that I'm not pursuing the path that really intellectually thrills and excites me - fundamental physics and the nature of reality.