Change in acceleration (jerk) how to calculate

In summary, you need to find the instantaneous rate of change of acceleration with respect to time by finding the slope of the tangent line.
james1232
Change in acceleration (jerk) how to calculate please help!

im a grade 11 student and i got a question that i don't understand, here it is. 32) a) derive an equation for the change in acceleration by using a graph analysis technique on a a-t (acceleration vs time) graph. (note. The name given tothe change in acceleration per unit time is called a jerk)

b) write an equation for the area under the graph . what does this represent.

so I thought that the equation to calculate acceleration in a = v/delta t but i don't have any clue what the equation is for the change in acceleration, i figure maybe if they were two straight lines you could just do a2 - a1 = change in acceleration, but on a a-t graph how would that work, because it would have to be two straight lines, not a diagonal line... if anyone has any ideas that would be great.

Physics news on Phys.org

You might clear your confusion up by clarifying your terminology. For example, the jerk is not defined as the change in acceleration but rather the change in acceleration per unit time. Since you're presumably in calculus you should know that velocity (which is the change in position per unit time) is given by [itex]dx/dt[/itex] and that acceleration (which is the change in velocity per unit time) is given by [itex]dv/dt[/itex]. What does this suggest about the jerk? How does the jerk relate to an acceleration v. time graph?