Chemistry - Enthelpy Questions (gr 12)

• MHB
  • Thread starter eleventhxhour
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chemistry
In summary, at 25°C, 15.70g of carbon dioxide absorbs 1.20kJ, which results in a temperature decrease of 0.357°C.
eleventhxhour
So I just started learning about enthalpy changes and all the equations that go along with it (for grade 12 chem). I wasn't sure how to do a few questions, so I'd really appreciate the help. I'm mostly kinda confused on when to use the equations q = mcdeltaH and deltaH = ndeltaHx

1) If at 25°C, 15.70g of carbon dioxide absorbs 1.20kJ, determine the final temperature of the gas. Its molar heat capacity is 37.11J/(K mol)

if you have time, I'd appreciate help with this one as well:

2) A 50.0g piece of aluminium is heated to 100.0°C and then put into a beaker containing 150.0mL of water at 20.0°C. Assuming no loss of heat to the surroundings, determine the final temperature of the water.

Thanks!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
eleventhxhour said:
So I just started learning about enthalpy changes and all the equations that go along with it (for grade 12 chem). I wasn't sure how to do a few questions, so I'd really appreciate the help. I'm mostly kinda confused on when to use the equations q = mcdeltaH and deltaH = ndeltaHx

1) If at 25°C, 15.70g of carbon dioxide absorbs 1.20kJ, determine the final temperature of the gas. Its molar heat capacity is 37.11J/(K mol)

if you have time, I'd appreciate help with this one as well:

2) A 50.0g piece of aluminium is heated to 100.0°C and then put into a beaker containing 150.0mL of water at 20.0°C. Assuming no loss of heat to the surroundings, determine the final temperature of the water.

Thanks!

I suspect you mean \(\displaystyle Q = mc \Delta T\). That said if you don't know what equation to use I focus on what the question gives me and how the units work together.

1. You can use a similar equation using moles: \(\displaystyle Q = nc \Delta T\)