Deriving formula for MA of differential windlass

In summary, the mechanical advantage of this system is 2 based on the equation found online and the principle of virtual work.
TheKShaugh
Hi,

I am trying to find an equation that would give the mechanical advantage of this system:

L-differentialwinde.png

I am fairly new to this kind of analysis, but my understanding is that to determine the MA I need to consider that:

[tex]W_{in} = W_{out}[/tex]

[tex]F_{in} d_{in} = F_{out} d_{out}[/tex]

[tex]F_{out} / F_{in} = d_{in} / d_{out} = MA[/tex]

So all I need to do to determine the mechanical advantage is to find the ratio of the distances of the applied and effort forces.

d_in:

The crank and large drum act as a wheel and axle, so the distance the large drum travels per full revolution of the crank shaft is:

[tex]\frac{r_{large \, drum}}{r_{crank}}[/tex]

d_out

The movable pulley is going to rise a distance that equals one half the difference in circumferences between the large and small drum:

[tex]\pi(r_{large \, drum} - r_{small \, drum})[/tex]

Which give a rough mechanical advantage (ignoring the levers created by the crank) of:

[tex] 2 \times \frac{r_{large \, drum}}{\pi r_{crank}(r_{large \, drum} - r_{small \, drum})}[/tex]

I have some concerns though, the main one being that this is different from the only equation I could find online, which is:

[tex]\frac{2 \, r_{crank}}{r_{large \, drum} - r_{small \, drum}}[/tex]

Is my analysis correct or have I missed something? Also, if anyone could tell me why the pulley moves only one half the difference between the two radii and not the full difference between the two I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I've thought about it some more and I think I've got it. This complex machine can be broken up into three simple machines: the movable pulley, the wheel and axle, and the rope wrapped around the two drums.

The movable pulley has a MA of 2.