Description of Control and instrumentation engineer

In summary, a Control Systems Engineer designs and maintains systems that respond correctly and quickly to commands. They may work in many industries, but are usually certified. The difference between a PE and an Msc is that a PE is only a designation, while an Msc is an actual degree.
huntflex
Hello, I am an undergraduate in EE, for the last year I have taken two control courses (classical control theory, and digital control) which I find very interesting and considering taking an Msc in this subject. Are any of you a control engineer and could you describe what kind of job you do? I'm quite aware that it can vary greatly, nevertheless I'm still very interested to hear from you.

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Funny you should mention that. My degree is in Electrical Engineering, and my PE is in Controls Engineering.

There are many things you could do. The best thing to remember is that Control systems engineering is actually a cross section of many disciplines. The big difference between Controls and Electrical Engineering is that Electrical Engineering is mostly concerned with the steady state behavior, whereas Controls are very concerned with the initial response and settling time.

Industries that employ Control Systems Engineers include the Petrochemical, Pharmaceutical, and many manufacturers. But don't overlook utilities, such as water, electric, gas, and so forth.

If you like telecommunications and controls, consider designing SCADA systems.