Distance Covered While Acc, and Dec

• Thread starter granitkr
  • Start date
In summary: Also, your formua has 't*s' in it which is not correct.In summary, the subway train starts from rest and accelerates at a rate of 1.20 m/s^2 for 20.0 seconds, covers a distance of 240 meters. It then runs at a constant speed for 50.0 seconds before decelerating at a rate of -3.00 m/s^2 until it stops at the next station. The total distance covered is 240 meters while accelerating, 600 meters while running at constant speed, and 450 meters while decelerating, for a total distance of 1,290 meters. The formula used to calculate the distance covered is D = 0.5
granitkr
A subway train starts from rest at a station and accelerates at a rate of 1,20 m/s^2
for 20,0s. It runs at constant speed for 50,0 s and slows down at -3,00 m/s^2
until it stops at the next station. Find the total distance covered.

I just need to know the formulas, because i studied this a long time ago, and forgot them!

Physics news on Phys.org
Ive been using this formula but somehow it dose not check out i THINK. (acc) D= 0.5 * 1.20 * 20^2

Break the problem into several parts.

1. Use your formula above to determine how far it went when accelerating.
2. Use formula V=a*t to determine the speed attained in 1 above.
3. Use formula X = V*t to determine how far it went in the 50 seconds.
4. Use formua X = V*t + .5*a*t^2 to determine how far it went during the slowing down portion of the problem. Note that 'a' is -3.0 in this equation.
5. Add all the distances up.

I still need the formula to calculate the distance traveled while acc. to 24m/s^2. Or is mine right D= 1/2 * a * t^2

granitkr said:
I still need the formula to calculate the distance traveled while acc. to 24m/s^2. Or is mine right D= 1/2 * a * t^2

Recall my first statement:
1. Use your formula above to determine how far it went when accelerating.

You have the proper formula to determine distance for the acceleration portion.