DIY Helmet Mounted HUD

xxtop
TL;DR Summary
Trying to build my own HMD
Hello,

I'm trying to build a helmet-mounted display. Basically a HUD that is contained fully within a helmet. I am not experienced with optics though and can only sift through what the internet has to offer. I don't want it to be a "put your phone down next to an angled piece of polycarbonate" DIY HUD but rather an actual piece of engineered hardware. The FOV should be as large as the components (and the price) permit. Having the combiner be curved would be great but I assume that is not feasible.

Therefore my imaginative setup would look like this: A reasonably sized piece of teleprompter mirror (optical combiner, sourced from https://telepromptermirror.com/) angled at 45° with the lower side towards the viewpoint. Above a planar convex fresnel lens (sourced from https://www.edmundoptics.com) with its focal point in the middle of the combiner. To guide the beams towards the lens, a first surface mirror (sourced from https://firstsurfacemirror.com/) angled at 45° to reflect a LCD display. I have made a crude drawing of how I imagine this:

Untitled.png

The lower is the drawing I based most of this on. In my usecase I have some space constraints though and would like to place the LCD in the same direction as the viewpoint. Therefore the first-surface mirror is be angled the other way. Does this interfere with how the LCD is perceived from the viewpoint?

simhud2.png

Adding to this:
Many drawings feature a second lens in front of the first-surface mirror. What's the purpose of that one? The lenses used here look like lenses corrected for some sort of aberration, is this relevant? I expected chromatic aberration to be negligible for a monochromatic display.

A-simple-HUD-consisting-of-the-four-elements-discussed-by-Hooey-and-Gore-1998-Adapted-3494874096.png