Do we actually need the wavefunction?

• Thread starter GaryChapman
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Wavefunction
In summary: The "ensemble" is a group of particles that are, in some sense, related, and the theory is not able to predict the behavior of the ensemble as a whole. This was first noticed in the early days of quantum theory, and it's been a problem that's never really been solved. This difficulty is related to the philosophical requirement of the theory, and it's something that's been known about and discussed for a long time. It's a bit like the problem of induction - we can make a lot of deductions from the individual, but if we want to make a generalization, we need to be able to do it for all the individual cases. In summary, the current interpretations
GaryChapman
I am not a scientist - I am a retired software engineer. But I find the current interpretations in quantum physics rather unsatisfying. This leads me to some questions.

My main concern is over the need for a wave function. I've recently been reading the transactional interpretation but it strikes me as needlessly complex. I have my own interpretation but would like some critical feedback from those more knowledgeable and possibly some pointers to where I am missunderstanding things : )

It appears to me that we do not need a wavefunction or particle/wave duality to explain the double slit experiment. The observed 'wave function' of the photon could instead be a product of the experimental setup which exists regardless of whether the experiment is actually performed.

I am taken to understand that matter and energy are flipsides of the same coin. But what if matter creates (or is created by) ripples. These ripples interfere with each other to produce a rich landscape of peaks and troughs. One could then imagine that the wavefunction is a permanent feature of the experiment itself and not some bizarre duality of, say, a photon? I'll explain...