Does mass draw in space time?

bkelly13
TL;DR Summary
Does a large mass pull spacetime in closer to it?
I have read widely about spacetime but not deeply. I am not good with high mathematics. I am aware of and comfortable with the concept: “matter tells spacetime how to curve, and curved spacetime tells matter how to move.” But not much deeper. This is a thought experiment.

Is there an equation that calculates how mass curves spacetime? Specifically, the question is how much a black hole, or any large mass, will draw in space time. I suspect it does, but am not positive this is a valid concept.

To be explicit, presume we stand off from a solar system in space and that we can see the lines of space and that we are not affected by changes. Presume we can see the lines where planets A, B, and C orbit the sun S. We replace sun S with one that is ten or a hundred times as massive. How would those circles for the planet orbits move? From our distant and unaffected location, the presumption is we would see the line for each planet would move in closer to the sun and the closer ones would be affected more than those further away. Would those orbit lines move? If so how much would they move? (Let’s ignorine the sudden change on the planets themselves for several reasons.)

But how would we measure it? From our location use Pythagorean’s theorem. Set the adjacent as the line to the sun, the hypotenuse as the line to each of the planets, and the opposite is the distance between the sun and the planet. And since this is a thought experiment, presume our visual lines of sight to the planets and the sun are not changed by the changes in mass and that we can see the changes instantly.

Is this a valid thought experiment? Your thoughts please.

Physics news on Phys.org
bkelly13 said:
Is there an equation that calculates how mass curves spacetime?
Einstein's field equations.
bkelly13 said: