Double Major Astronomy & Biophysics

In summary, the speaker has decided to double major in Astronomy and Biophysics, as there is significant overlap between the two and they are more interested in following their interests rather than job prospects. However, they are considering just majoring in Astronomy and Physics due to the potential stress and additional courses involved in Biophysics. Other areas of interest include astrobiology, space travel, and evolutionary biology.
YellowTang13
I think I have finally decided I want to double major in Astronomy and Biophysics. There seems to be great overlap because most of it is just physics. I am a sophomore at UT Austin. Do you think this is a wise choice. I kind of just want to follow my interests rather than worry about future job prospects etc. Other topics of interest for me are astrobiology, space travel, evolutionary biology, etc. Or would it be better to just major in Astronomy and Physics?

Thank you :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Biophysics in particular may add the stress of fitting in extra biology classes and most likely organic chemistry along with all your physics and astronomy classes. Most of the areas where physics would be applied to biology, such as mathematical biology or computational biology(based on job postings I've read) draw mainly from traditional physics training.

FAQ: Double Major Astronomy & Biophysics

1. What is a double major in Astronomy & Biophysics?

A double major in Astronomy & Biophysics is a program of study that combines two different fields of science - astronomy and biophysics. This allows students to gain a comprehensive understanding of the physical laws governing both the universe and living organisms.

2. What career opportunities are available with a double major in Astronomy & Biophysics?