Dynamics Question: Finding mass using Vi, Vf, D and acceleration

In summary, a 3rd year university student who is new to the forum and has never taken physics before is studying for a dynamics unit test. They are trying to solve for the coefficient of kinetic friction in a question involving a car skidding to a stop. They found the deceleration using kinematics formula and were stuck on finding the mass of the car. However, they were reminded that the mass cancels out in the equation μmg=ma and were able to solve for the coefficient of kinetic friction.
Apollinaria
Hi everyone, I'm new to forum and am a 3rd year university student who has never taken physics until now.. I'm currently studying for a dynamics unit test and came upon this question...

Homework Statement

A car whose brakes are locked skids to a stop in 70m from an initial velocity of 22.22m/s. Find the coefficient of kinetic friction.

Vi: 22.22m/s
Vf: 0m/s
d: 70m
a(deceleration): -3.526m/s^2
g= 9.81m/s^2
μ=?

Homework Equations

- Found deceleration using kinematics formula Vf^2=Vi^2 =2ad
- Ff= μFn
- Fg=mg
- Fnet(y)=ma ; a(up/down)=0 ; Fnet(y)=0 ; Fn-Fg=0 ; Fn=Fg

The Attempt at a Solution

In order to find Fn, in order to be able to solve for μ, I need to know the mass of the car... I have no idea where to even begin solving for the mass of the car using the currently known values :(

If anyone has time, please point me in the right direction.

Attachments

• Dynamics.jpg
    Dynamics.jpg
    26 KB · Views: 741
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I suppose it should be Fnet(x)=ma.
What is Fnet(x) here? (Here only one force is acting in the direction of motion of car i.e force of friction)

EDIT: Oh, btw, welcome to PF!

Pranav-Arora said:
I suppose it should be Fnet(x)=ma.
What is Fnet(x) here? (Here only force is acting in the direction of motion of car i.e force of friction)

Hi there :)
I added an attachment.
Fnet(x)=ma