Electrical Engineer Academic Disciplines

In summary, it is important to have knowledge in both analogue and digital electronics, and it may be beneficial to choose a subdiscipline outside of telecommunications to broaden your skills. Telecommunication technology has a big future and it is important to choose a specialization that you are passionate about.
engineer_emp
Hello everyone! I am studying electrical & computer engineering and I have to choose a sector to specialize in. I am 100% sure that I like mostly the lessons considering energy distribution systems, telecommunication systems and electronics. So I decided to choose the subdisciplines of telecommunications/networks and analogue electronics. Yet, I have one more sector that I can take subjects from. However I have some questions:

1) Analogue electronics seem interesting to me, but are they in use today? Should I combine them with some digital electronics subjects? I was thinking of taking some courses from Digital Signal Processing, Digital VLSI, Embedded Systems and Microprocessors. Which 2 of those would you suggest?

2)Considering that I find electric power systems very interesting, I was thinking of choosing this as my 3rd subdiscipline. The other choice (easier one) is to choose the Management Discipline. Do you think that by choosing power systems I would be overextending?

Basically my questions arise from the fact that I rarely see telecommunication subjects discussed and despite the fact that I like communications (FM/AM/Digital communications etc) very much, I am not sure that there are many things to do in that sector in the future :( So a third question would be:

3) Do you think that telecommunication technology has a big future in front of it or mankind has mostly solved such problems?

Thank you all for your time! :)

Physics news on Phys.org