Electrical Engineering vs Physics

In summary, the individual is currently a freshman electrical engineering student who is considering transferring to a physics program. They initially chose their current program due to their interest in electronics, but they also enjoyed physics in high school. They particularly enjoyed their senior year physics class, which included topics such as sound waves, circuits, electromagnets, and optics. They have considered pursuing a program in Optical Engineering, but it is not available at the universities they have applied to. They are currently enjoying their physics class more than their major classes and are considering joining a physics organization. They are seeking guidance in making their decision and are interested in learning more about the day-to-day activities of a physics major.
lonelypancreas
Hi,

I'm currently a freshman electrical engineering student in a university and I'm having a dilemma if I am to transfer to physics or no. First of all, I chose my current program because of our electronics elective class in high school. I enjoyed the experiments back then and the projects as well. But in time with that, I was also taking physics then. I didn't quite enjoy the "introductory high school physics" during my junior year (we have two physics from junior to senior year) but in my senior year, it was my favorite among all classes. Senior year physics included sound waves (Doppler effects, dB's, etc.), AC & DC circuits, electromagnets, and the most interesting topic for me was Optics. I enjoyed our laboratory activity with the different kinds of lenses then. When I was still looking for a program to major in, I even considered finding an "Optical Engineering" program but unfortunately, it's not available in any universities that I've applied for. Then I ended up being accepted in Electrical Engineering. Now, I have two major classes, the Introduction to Electrical and Electronics Engineering and Programming Fundamentals