Exploring Atomic Volume: Calculating Moles and Individual Atom Volume

In summary, a percentage of the reciprocal of the "Atomic volume" is the number of moles of atoms per cm3.
Faultline369
Hi!

I am new here, and I am no professional physicist, but I love science and physics. I don’t claim to know much at all, but I hope to someday. Nor am I a math wiz, in fact, I struggle with it.

With that said, I was wondering if a percentage of the reciprocal of the “Atomic volume” is the number of moles of atoms per cm3.

For example: Lead’s atomic volume is 18.272 cm3/mol. It is FCC packed, so there is actually only 74% lead and the rest is void. Therefore: 0.74 * (1 / 18.272) would equal the number of mols of just Lead atoms in One cm3 . . . right? :redface:

So multiplying that above answer by Avogadro’s# would then give the “total number of individual lead atoms” per cm3? . . . right?

Then dividing 1 cm3 by this “total number of individual lead atoms” would then yield the volume of One single atom? (this would be a reciprocal again)

If this is wrong, could you take a second and show me (if possible) how to get individual atom volume from atomic volume?

THANKS! :biggrin:

Physics news on Phys.org
well IF atoms HAD individual volume, your method is the one that we would use, but now atoms does not have a definite volume due to their quantum mechanical nature.

Well you can do something like that, Faultline.

The problem malawi_glenn alludes to, is that the question is what that number would actually mean?
Atoms aren't tiny hard spheres. They don't have a well-defined 'radius'. So how would you define it?
The distance from the nucleus that has the highest electron density?
The distance from the nucleus that encloses a certain percentage of the electron density?
Half the distance to the closest atom?
Etc.