Exploring Entanglement: What is the Schmidt Rank?

In summary: But I think that if you have a measurement of entanglement, then the rank would be continuos and additive.In summary, the Schmidt rank is a measure of the entanglement between two quantum systems. It is continuos and additive, but for systems with local dimensional 2, it is not possible to have a measurement of entanglement with a Schmidt rank that is both continuos and additive.
valesdn
Hi guys. I'm studying an article on the measurements of entanglement in a pure bipartite state.
I don't understand the definition of the Schmidt rank. It is equal to the rank of the reduced density matrix, isn't it?
Is the Schmidt rank continuous and/or additive? I have no found on the net any articles or information about this.
Could you help me?

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you referring to the schmidt decompositionhttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schmidt_decomposition)?

Maybe this blog post will be helpful?

Suppose you have a quantum system involving two parties, Alice and Bob. Alice has an ##n##-level quantum system, and Bob has an ##m##-level quantum system. The combined system can be described by ##n m## amplitudes. Arrange those amplitudes into a grid with ##n## rows and ##m## columns, where each row corresponds to one of Alice's system's levels and each column corresponds to one of Bob's system's levels. For example, if they both have a qubit then the grid would be laid out like:

Code:
              | Alice qubit OFF | Alice qubit ON
--------------+-----------------+----------------------
Bob qubit OFF | amplitude_00    | amplitude_01
Bob qubit ON  | amplitude_10    | amplitude_11

Which happens look a whole lot like a matrix:

##\begin{bmatrix} a_{00} & a_{01} \\ a_{10} & a_{11} \end{bmatrix}##