Exploring the Group Theory of Latin Squares

In summary, the number of n by n Latin squares is represented by the sequence A002860, with no known formula for computation. The lower and upper bounds for large orders are still widely apart, with the classic estimate being (n!)^(2n)/(n^(n^2)) and the product of each factorial of k raised to the power of n/k. The number of structurally different Latin squares, which are not identical under rotation, mirroring, or permutation of symbols, to an order of 6 is represented by the sequence A264603.
AdrianZ
As I'm studying permutation groups I remembered that when I was in elementary school my teacher introduced Latin squares to us and asked us to find all 4 by 4 Latin squares. I never succeeded in solving the problem and I found it so challenging at that time, even later in high school when I returned to the problem they looked to be generated so randomly and lawlessly.

Today I returned to the problem, this time I'm equipped with some basic group theory results and I was hopeful that I could find the nature of Latin squares better than before because I expected their nature would be close to permutation groups or products of permutation groups. Again I failed to solve this mind-boggling problem lol. I've found 24 4 by 4 Latin squares so far, but I expect to find more, like 30 or 36. It's obvious to me that whatever the number of n by n Latin squares is, there must be a factor of (n-1)! because if I found a Latin square, I can find (n-1)! such Latin squares just by permutation of the rows 2,...,n. (provided that no repeated Latin square is formed)

Is there any general formula for predicting how many n by n Latin squares exist?
How many 4 by 4 Latin squares exist?