Faraday Flashlight Project/Experiment

• Thread starter schnookumz03
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Faraday
In summary, Charlene's final project was to create her own Faraday Flashlight. She used the Shake flashlight website to gather information on what materials she needed and purchased them. However, after building and testing the flashlight, she found that it did not work. She replaced the light bulb with a Diode rectifier and the capacitor with a 100 uF capacitor, but the flashlight still did not work. She believes that she may have missed something in the assembly process.
schnookumz03
Hi everyone! I am a high school student and my final project is to create my own Faraday Flashlight. I used the following website to find out what materials I needed:
http://www.shake-flashlights.com/how-they-work.html

After having bought all the supplies, coiling the wire manyyy times around a PVC pipe, sandpaper-ing the ends of my wires, and hooking everything up my flashlight did not work. I tried moving the magnet quickly but it still was not working.
I understand that LED lights only work in one direction and that the circuit would have an alternating current, and we (my teacher and I) have done just about everything to see where I went wrong. The wire works just fine (we tested it using a battery and the light bulb which also works just fine), the capacitor works, and the magnets are relatively strong.

We hooked up the system so that the light bulb and the coils were in parallel (just like in the diagram in http://www.shake-flashlights.com/how-they-work.html).

We even tried making the flashlight with only the light bulb, coils and magnet but we could not get a current out of it. What am I doing wrong? Please help me.

Thank you!
Charlene

Physics news on Phys.org
Thank you!

Hi again.