Feedback Control Systems as an Elective

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate mechanical engineering major seeking advice on taking an upper division EE feedback controls course. They have a basic understanding of electrical engineering concepts but are unsure of what to expect from the course. They are seeking feedback from someone who has taken a similar course.
LabGuy330
Hey everyone,

I am an undergraduate mechanical engineering major considering a EE feedback controls course as an upper division elective. I have taken ME Control Systems and am also the Lab Instructor for it this semester. I am familiar with signals, filters, sensors, controllers etc.

My questions is what to expect from a course like this? Since I don't have a very deep education in Electrical Engineering I don't want to get in over my head. My knowledge extends from op amps, transistors, diodes, integrators/differentiators, PIDs, transformers, Laplace Domain, root locus, and others.

Any feedback from someone who has taken a similar course would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
You will find much of the EE material analogous to what you know from your ME course, but it's good to learn both mechanical and electrical feedback methods and stability analysis. You will use both in your work, I believe. :smile:

Related to Feedback Control Systems as an Elective

1. What is a feedback control system?

A feedback control system is a type of control system that uses a feedback loop to adjust the output based on the difference between the desired output and the actual output. This allows for self-regulation and error correction in systems, making them more efficient and accurate.

2. What are some common applications of feedback control systems?