Feeling unmotivated, any advice?

• Thread starter Instinctlol
  • Start date
In summary, it seems like I need to break my project down into smaller more manageable tasks and keep track of what variables are in what state.
Instinctlol
I am a jr cs student. I just transferred to a university from a community college and I feel a HUGE different in terms of difficulty. I have been working on 1 assignment day and night and I can't seem to get it done. The assignment is much larger than I am used to and I am getting bugs from every little code I write.

I am starting to feel unmotivated and about to give up. Do you guys have any tips or advice for tackling these big projects? What should I do to reduce the amount of bugs I get?

Technology news on Phys.org
That's a tough one.

You could try applying the Unix philosophy of writing small functions that do one thing but do it well...functions that do not do much more than one thing at a time without confusing the matter by trying to kill two or more birds with one stone and trying to do different things within the same loop, finding yourself including 'if' statement, etc. and keeping track of several tasks all in your head at the same time.

Some of the code may be the same, but who cares...maybe at the end, with better vision, you can join things together if performance is really an objective...to start, though, clarity, debugging ease and extensibility are best.

Also, "prototype and re-write" is not that bad...don't continue a bad path, just because you started that way...some times writing something for the first gives you a better taste for it and you can come back a second time and be surprised how much better and simpler you can write it.

Good luck

Hey Instinctlol.

My advice for reducing bugs is to keep the state-space in your head for the variables and if you can't do that right now in your education, then get out a piece of paper and do it that way.