Finding eigenvalues, Shankar exercise 1.8.3

In summary, the conversation discusses a question about a given matrix and its solutions. The person apologizes for potentially posting in the wrong place and for the poor formatting. They also mention that they are self-studying and not sure if the question counts as homework. The conversation ends with a clarification that the person made a mistake in the original question and thanks the other person for pointing it out.
TimID
First, I appologise if this is in the wrong place, while the book is QM, the question is pure maths. Also I'm not sure if this techically counts as homework as I am self studying. Finally, sorry for the poor formatting, I'm not that good with LaTeX

Homework Statement

Given the matrix: [tex]\Omega[/tex] =
[tex]\left[ {\begin{array}{ccc}
2 & 0 & 0 \\
0 & 3 & -1 \\
0 & -1 & 3 \\
\end{array} } \right]
[/tex]

Show that [tex]\omega[/tex]1 = [tex]\omega[/tex]2 = 1; [tex]\omega[/tex]3 = 2

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

So det([tex]\Omega[/tex] - [tex]\omega[/tex]I) = (2 - [tex]\omega[/tex])((3 - [tex]\omega[/tex])(3 - [tex]\omega[/tex]) - 1)

Which obviously leaves [tex]\omega[/tex] = 2, but also (3 - [tex]\omega[/tex])2 = 1, the solutions to which should be [tex]\omega[/tex] = 2 and [tex]\omega[/tex] = 4.

Where am I going wrong?

Any help greatfully appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
You're not going wrong for the given matrix. Are you sure you're doing the right problem?

You're absolutely right, there was a factor of a half in the original question that I completely missed, thanks. I must have checked the original problem a dozen times before posting and didn't spot it, I hate my brain sometimes.

Thanks again,

Tim

Related to Finding eigenvalues, Shankar exercise 1.8.3

What are eigenvalues and why are they important?