French student wishing to do nanoscience

• Thread starter Zulily
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Student
In summary, a French masters student is interested in doing research in nanoscience. Their first choice is a Canadian school, but their professors suggest looking into American schools as well. Some suggestions were provided, including Maryland, Rice, Northwestern, Minnesota, WUSTL, and Notre Dame. The student also has research experience in condensed matter and nanoscience, but no published papers. They are also studying for the physics GRE and have a GPA of 15/20 for their undergraduate degree and 16/20 for their masters. The student is aware of the requirements for applying for a PhD in the US and is questioning if they are on the right track.
Zulily
I am a French masters student that wants to do research in nanoscience. At this point, my first choice is a Canadian school but my professors back in France told me that, given that particular choice of a Canadian school (a Quebec one, mind you, in which case I would not cost them any more to take me on as a doctoral-level RA than if I was a local student), I should look at American schools also. Yet, here are some suggestions they made, given that I want to do experimental nanoscience, assuming that I would be able to stand up to the locals:

Maryland
Rice
Northwestern
Minnesota
WUSTL
Notre Dame

In France, the undergraduate program usually does not cover the material in that much depth so I am not sure how does a French 15-16/20 stacks up to American undergraduate grades. However, in Europe, it is possible to spend up to one year study abroad while in a masters program. So going to my first choice, in fact, amounts to returning to that very school I did my graduate-level study abroad in for a PhD.