General Relativity Textbook for an Engineer

In summary: But they are always taught in that order, and all the textbooks use that order. You need to understand SR to be able to read the GR section of the books. Some GR books do a good job introducing SR, but I think Hartle's is the best.
thepassenger48
Hi,
I'm an engineering student looking to learn General Relativity... I was wondering which textbook would be the best for me?

I'm pretty well versed in classical physics, and in mathematics (linear algebra, multivariable calculus, partial differential equations), but I have no background in 4 vectors or differential geometry.

I guess some famous options are:
Gravity: An Introduction to Einstein's General Relativity by James B. Hartle
A First Course in General Relativity by Bernard Schutz
Exploring Black Holes: Introduction to General Relativity by Edwin F. Taylor
General Relativity by Robert M. Wald

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm personally a fan of Hartle's book, but by the time I got to that I'd already studied special relativity a couple of times, which means I was pretty familiar with 4-vectors. I'd definitely suggest tackling SR before you start on GR.

I agree, learn SR and then tackle Hartle. I would recommend the the red paperback first edition of Spacetime Physics. This has full solutions to the problem sets in the back, and is a better book IMO than the 2nd edition.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/071670336X/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Some Amazon sellers are clueless, so make sure the seller has the red paperback and not some other edition.

Last edited by a moderator:
I disagree with insisting an engineer learn SR before GR.

thepassenger48, you did not say what kind of engineering student you are (i.e. mechanical, electrical, chemical, etc), but GR is a continuum field theory. If you have any experience in continuum mechanics- stress/strain relations, for example, you are well-placed to learn GR directly.