Getting into university with low english mark

In summary, if you scored below the average for your high school, you will likely need to take an english course to make up the difference.
programmer123
Hello everyone!

I am a high school student trying to get into U of Waterloo or U of T.

My english mark is 56% and I really don't want to take it again. However, with this english and my best 5 other subjects my average will (hopefully) still be high enough to meet the minimum requirement average for the various programs that I want to get into. I am going into the math faculty. So, my question is basically if anyone here knows if there is a minimum mark requirement for english to get into university. I did not find any information regarding minimum grades in english class on the universities' websites.

I appreciate anyone's information/thoughts/experiences.

Physics news on Phys.org
Not important unless you're trying to get into English.

Ontario undergraduate admissions are a joke. Your high school just plugs your numbers into a database at the Ontario University Applications Centre and schools decide whether or not to take you based on your high school GPA. No personal essays or letters of recommendations, and in most cases, no extracurriculars are needed. The consequence? Lots of dumb freshmen who don't care about school.

If you're planning to go into physics in graduate school, don't go to U of T for undergraduate. They keep their averages really low (2.4 / 4) . So you might be getting a 3.5 average but be in the top 10% of the class, but graduate schools might not realize that, and just see your 3.5 / 4 as mediocre.

That's not exactly true... the Faculty of Mathematics at Waterloo requires a recommendation letter.

Werg22 said:
That's not exactly true... the Faculty of Mathematics at Waterloo requires a recommendation letter.
I also seem to remember having to write essays for both U of T and Waterloo. But maybe this has changed.

Thanks for the replies guys!