Getting Started with MATLAB Simulations of Basic Equations

In summary, the conversation involves a person who is new to MATLAB and has been assigned a task to simulate a basic equation. They are unsure of how to start and are seeking guidance on how to plot the equation, which involves a variable h and Arterial pressure as the output. Another person provides an example of how to plot a similar equation and suggests using the range function to set the values for h. The conversation then shifts to using Simulink, but the expert is not familiar with it and provides a link for further information. Finally, another person asks for help in finding coordinates in a plot and is seeking an explanation.
mit_cool
Hello friends,
I am new to MATLAB and I have been asigned a task in MATLAB to simulate basic equation..
I have no idea how to start..
The equation is

Arterial pressure= Mean arterial pressure - h*7.46 (h= height)

Can you tell me how to do please?

thankx

Physics news on Phys.org
what are you trying to do? plot it?

if so here's an example to try first:

a=3
b=5
x = [ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ]
y = a*x + b

plot(x,y)

y2=x*x
plot(x,y2)

but how can i relate this to my equation?
yes..I have to plot it ..H is variable and Arterial pressure is output

so h is the independent variable just like the x in my example where I set
x = [ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

there is also a way to set x via a range:
x=1:5:0.1

where x will vary from 1 to 5 by 0.1 increments ie x=[1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 ... 5]

this should give you enough to solve the problem and plot your results via plot(h,ap)

Thank you man ..now it is clear..

I have one more question..

I am trying to do same in simulink but can you tell me how to import my variable H in simulink? i mean which block shall I use?

Thanks again

Hi am new to MATLAB...I need to find the coordinates of a figure in a plot
but i don't know how ...
kindly explain

Related to Getting Started with MATLAB Simulations of Basic Equations