Given the planar curve, find the equation of the plane

In summary: I guess that's what it is? If it's not, could you let me know what I did wrong? Sorry, I'm really new to this topic.Also, how do I find the normal vector?Homework Statement r(t) = < 2e^t - 5 , e^t +3t^2 , 4t^2 +1> Is a curve that lies within a plane. Find the equation of this plane.The Attempt at a SolutionI am not sure if my approach is correct. These are my results: x=2e^t - 5 y = e^t +3t^2 z = 4t^2 + 1
dlacombe13

Homework Statement

[itex] r(t) = < 2e^t - 5 , e^t +3t^2 , 4t^2 +1> [/itex]
Is a curve that lies within a plane. Find the equation of this plane.

The Attempt at a Solution

I am not sure if my approach is correct. These are my results:
[itex] x=2e^t - 5 [/itex]
[itex] y = e^t +3t^2[/itex]
[itex] z = 4t^2 + 1[/itex]

[itex] z = 4t^2 + 1 ~~\Rightarrow~~ t = \sqrt{\frac{z-1}{4}}[/itex]

[itex] x = 2e^\sqrt{\frac{z-1}{4}} - 5 ~~\Rightarrow~~ \frac{x+5}{2} =e^\sqrt{\frac{z-1}{4}} [/itex]
[itex] y = e^\sqrt{\frac{z-1}{4}} + \frac{3z-3}{4} [/itex]

[itex] y = \frac{x+5}{2} + \frac{3z-3}{4} [/itex]
[itex]= \frac{x}{2} + \frac{5}{2} + \frac{3z}{4} - \frac{3}{4}[/itex]

[itex]= \frac{1}{2}x - y + \frac{3}{4}z = -\frac{15}{8}[/itex]

Physics news on Phys.org
One way of specifying a plane is as [itex]\{ \lambda \mathbf{a} + \mu\mathbf{b} + \mathbf{c} : (\lambda , \mu) \in \mathbb{R}^2\}[/itex] for given vectors [itex]\mathbf{a}[/itex], [itex]\mathbf{b}[/itex] and [itex]\mathbf{c}[/itex] where [itex]\mathbf{a}[/itex] and [itex]\mathbf{b}[/itex] are linearly independent. Then for non-constant functions [itex]f: \mathbb{R} \to \mathbb{R}[/itex] and [itex]g: \mathbb{R} \to \mathbb{R}[/itex] we have that [tex]\mathbf{r}(t) = f(t)\mathbf{a} + g(t)\mathbf{b} + \mathbf{c}[/tex] is a curve which lies on this plane.

dlacombe13 said:

Homework Statement