Hanbury Brown and Twiss effect question

• Thread starter LmdL
  • Start date
In summary: The LED is a thermal radiation source, so it is not a single-photon source. A laser diode should not show the correlation peak.
LmdL
Hello,
I'm a student which needs to setup a HBT experiment in the lab and I have some questions. I already read this thread:
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=757064
and it was very useful, so I'm asking for help from Cthugha or anyone who knows.

My experimental setup is as following:
QXJzQFC.png

Light from the the blue LED after passing through a 0.2[mm] pinhole, travels ~1.25[m] and is divided into 2 beams, each hits either the PMT #1 or PMT #2. Two signals from the detectors are being saved in a frequency of 1.25[GHz]. I perform a cross-correlation of the two signals in MATLAB.

Problem: I did several runs - recorded the signals for 10 minutes, 40 minutes, 3 hours, 6 hours. In any of the runs the cross-correlation didn't show the peak (which corresponds to the photons correlation).
After failing again and again I decided to check again my equipment for any misfitting to the theoretical basis of the experiment.

Questions:
1. Light source.
As I know, Brown and Twiss, in their original experiment used a mercury arc lamp, which is a thermal radiation source. I'm not sure if blue LED is a thermal radiation source or a single-photon.

2. Pinhole.
I have different pinhole sizes, from 1um to 200um, but according to the theory - the more light PMTs receive, the higher the correlation, so I used the largest pinhole I have. The question is - do I have to use the lens before pinhole, in order to focus the light into it?

3. Maybe it's just a matter of time and I need far more than 6 hours of signals data?

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Let me see what we can find out.

LmdL said:
1. Light source.