Have you heard about econophysics?

• Physics
  • Thread starter JorgeM
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of studying Econophysics, a field that applies tools from physics to model and understand economic systems. While some argue that this may not necessarily be considered a branch of physics, others believe it falls under the study of complex systems. Links to further information on Econophysics are provided.
JorgeM
I'm studying physics engineering, and I would like to make a degree in Applied physics, but next to that step I would like to study Econophysics or something related to that area. I really like the area of computacional computing and economics so, I think it is going to be so good to try to propose some models using some of the math and physical intuition that one learns while we are in University.
Do you know if this is a serious part of the physics? Or is it to new area to know so much about it?
Thanks for your advise!

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't really understand what that would entail. Economics is the study of financial exchanges between humans. I suppose you could try modeling economic systems using known physical systems and see what results you get -- that may be of some interest. I'm not sure I would necessarily classify that as a branch of physics per-se, because you're using the physics as an analogy. There is no underlying physical system to economics.

Dewgale said:
I don't really understand what that would entail. Economics is the study of financial exchanges between humans. I suppose you could try modeling economic systems using known physical systems and see what results you get -- that may be of some interest. I'm not sure I would necessarily classify that as a branch of physics per-se, because you're using the physics as an analogy. There is no underlying physical system to economics.
I suggest you Google Econophysics