Help Calculating RPM of a rotatory atomizer thats powered by pneumatic

In summary, the conversation discusses a recent horticulture graduate seeking help with a physics problem related to a pneumatically powered rotary atomizer. The individual needs to find an equation to calculate the RPM of the atomizer based on air pressure and other measurements. The solution lies in the Torque Equation, which involves finding the moment of inertia and using it to calculate the angular velocity and ultimately, the RPM of the atomizer.
bob5bob
Hello everyone,

I am a recent horticulture graduate and as such, I take a long time figuring out physics problems.:confused: I hope I could trouble you guys for a possible solution to my problem. I am making an rotary atomizer that is pneumatically powered and need to find out how fast i can make it spin with a max 100psi airflow. The turbine part is 40mm in diameter and has four half circle blades. It is contained in a shaped case that is two parts which are mirror images of themselves, each side has a vent which is 6mm by 6mm and a entry hole for a 5mm inside diameter pipe. The disc is out side the case and is 80mm in diameter. Basically I am just trying to figure out an equation for this that allow me to take air pressure and calculate RPM of the disc. Any help would be appreciated.:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org