Help with Complex Polynomial equation in mathematica

In summary: I have looked through the documentation, and I can't seem to find ComplexExpand or Simplify. What should I do?I think you should look up "simplify" or "expand" in the help.
Don Diego
Hi everybody:
I'm trying to analyse equations of analogue electronic filters, but i can't get the "norm" of the complex polynom if i use variables (or symbols? what's the difference?), here's the simplest exemple (RC low pass filter, a represents R*C*w, reals variables > 0):

Assuming[ a \[Element] Reals && a > 0, Norm[1/(1 + a \[ImaginaryJ])]]

Norm[1/(1 + I a)]

The answer :

Norm[1/(1 + I a)] ----- the same thing!

Re[] and Im[] doesn't work either!
I will like to uses to find the argument (Arg[] doesn't work)

and after all, make my bode plots!
please help me, I'm new in mathematica!
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
up?? somebody?? help!

Norm? Do you mean Abs?

If you want it to try and simplify things, or expand a function, or other stuff, you should invoke the appropriate functions...

And if you want to plot something, just plot it. If it evaluates to a real number, it doesn't matter what the symbolic form is.

Hi Hurkyl, and thanks for the answer:

My problem is that i can't get the "modulus" or "norm" of the Complex number, once i get the norm (norm = abs) i would like to plot it as a fonction of "w", how can i get the Norm of à complex number without fixed values??
exemple:
Norm[1/(1 + 3 \[ImaginaryJ])]
then i get :
1/Sqrt[10]

with Norm[(1/(1 + a \[ImaginaryJ]))
i get Norm[(1/(1 + a \[ImaginaryJ])), the same thing!

i should get : 1/(\[Sqrt]1 + a^2)
... what ca i do?

What part of my response didn't you understand?

Yeah, it's a drag…
For your particular example, this gives the appropriate result :

http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/319/picture1qs.jpg

I suggest you define a function which does the above :biggrin:

Last edited by a moderator: