Help with Organic Rankine Cycle Project

In summary, the organic rankine cycle project is to build an electric generator using a scroll expander as the turbine. The working fluid will be Butane, and the turbine will require a flow rate of 6 CFM. Questions surrounding the size and design of the heat exchangers, the pressure of the fluid exiting the turbine, and the feasibility of the project are all answered in this summary.
Dolph1983
Help with Organic Rankine Cycle Project please!

Moderator's note: this thread is from May 2011

Hi there everyone, I'm posting here in the hope that someone will be willing to help an engineering layman do some calculations, I'm a plumber not an engineer. Thanks to anyone who decides to help me out.

The project:

build an electric generation device using organic rankine cycle and scroll expander as turbine. Fueled by biomass/waste products.

So far i have built a boiler which will raise 80 degrees C in my heat transfer fluid (water) and a pump to deliver the fluid to my heat exchangers.

Rankine circuit will use Butane as working fluid.

Turbine will require a flow of 6 CFM butane vapour at 6bar. This has been tested using an air compressor to simulate butane flow.

Questions:

How do i work out the correct size for my evaporator plate heat exchangers? and my condenser plate heat exchangers?.

Many thanks,

Dolph

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org

I will try and give a bit more information just incase anyone is interested in assisting me.

Below is a link to a thesis which i found helpful, however the working fluid and input temperatures are different to what i hope to experiment with, so there is a limit to this document relevance to my project.

http://organicrankine.com/orc_documents/scroll_non_auto/TFE_SQ010607.pdf

Please check out my YouTube channel for information on my project:

http://www.youtube.com/user/DoLpH1983?feature=mhum

I will be very thankful for any help and assistance provided!

Thanks