How Can a High School Student Learn About Superconductors?

In summary, the speaker is a high school student looking to self-learn about superconductors in order to make one for a science fair in May. They have had trouble finding resources and are seeking advice on materials to check out. They have been warned about the potential dangers of working with superconductors and have expressed their intention to learn the theory before attempting anything practical. They are also seeking recommendations for books to learn about superconductors.
TomasAlbert
Well, right now I am a high school student taking AP Physics C, BC cac and AP chem and I want to self learn about superconductors.
I have looked online and at my school library and have had little to no luck finding any documents that I can learn from. My goal is to learn about superconductors so that I can attempt to make one for the science fair in San Francisco in May, so I would really appreciate it if you could give me some advise on some material I should check out.

Physics news on Phys.org
Sounds kinda dangerous. I doubt your school will allow you to do it. Check out LHC explosion

I know it is dangerous, which is why I plan on spending a lot of time learning the theory behind it before moving onto the practical

If your planning to measure how resistance drops at lower tempatures, then it might be practical. If you wanted to pass a high current becuase of superconductivity, that's slightly impractical.

TomasAlbert said:
My goal is to learn about superconductors so that I can attempt to make one for the science fair in San Francisco in May, so I would really appreciate it if you could give me some advise on some material I should check out.
You mean to produce a SC material yourself? It won't be easy to get the materials and equipment for producing high temperature SC.
As for the more "classical" SCs, the low temperatures required may be difficult to produce and maintain in a science fair.