How can I plot this algorithm's running time using different values of a?

• Thread starter Jarvis323
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Formula
In summary, the conversation discusses a research paper that presents a formula for the running time of an algorithm. The formula is represented as expO((log N)^α(log log N)^(1−α)) = L(a) and is found in the introduction of the article. The individual would like to plot this function alongside another, with the growth parameterized by a= 1/4 + O(1), a = 1/4 + O(n), and a= 1/3 in ascending order. To interpret the formula and plot it correctly, the individual suggests using ##x= \log N## and ##y=\log\log N## as variables, with the argument of the exponent being ##O(x^\alpha
Jarvis323
I'm studying a research paper that gives this formula for the running time of an algorithm,

expO((log N)^α(log log N)^(1−α)) = L(a)

I would like to plot this function alongside another, for a = 1/4 + O(1), a = 1/4 + O(n), and a= 1/3. The function's growth parameratized by those a's, should be ordered from small to big in the order I listed them.

Here is a link to the article, the formula is found in the introduction.
http://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-642-55220-5_1

If you can help me interpret this in a way that I can plot the function correctly, that would be helpful.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
The preprint (free) version of the article is http://arxiv.org/abs/1306.4244. Let ##x= \log N## and ##y=\log\log N##. I parse that the argument of the exponent is ##O(x^\alpha y^{1-\alpha})##.

Related to How can I plot this algorithm's running time using different values of a?

1. How do I identify the variables in the formula?

In order to parse a formula, you first need to identify all the variables present. Look for letters or symbols that represent unknown values, such as x, y, or θ. They are typically located on the left side of an equal sign.

2. What is the order of operations for parsing a formula?