How can I project images onto a mirror for a painting project?

In summary, someone recommends using carbon paper and tracing the image onto it to transfer to the mirror. Another option is using a regular sheet of glass and applying a silvering agent. A water soluble substrate is recommended.
danbeard
Hi. I am an artist and currently working on a project using mirrors. I need to transfer an image (portrait photo) onto a mirror so I can trace directly on the mirror surface so I have the guides to then paint over it. I would like to be able to use an overhead projector but of course the light bounces straight off the mirror. Does anyone have a solution for this? I could use the traditional method of drawing a grid and transposing by eye and measurement but I have a few of these to do and time is off the essence!

Tips?

Science news on Phys.org
danbeard said:
Hi. I am an artist and currently working on a project using mirrors. I need to transfer an image (portrait photo) onto a mirror so I can trace directly on the mirror surface so I have the guides to then paint over it. I would like to be able to use an overhead projector but of course the light bounces straight off the mirror. Does anyone have a solution for this? I could use the traditional method of drawing a grid and transposing by eye and measurement but I have a few of these to do and time is off the essence!

Tips?
Carbon paper. You can buy packs of em cheap.
Place carbon paper over the mirror. Project your image on the carbon paper. Trace your lines on the carbon paper, it will transfer to the mirror.

Welcome to PF, Danbeard.
I can think of a few approaches, but I somehow doubt that they would meet your needs. The first, most obvious, one would be to do your painting on a thin-film transparency and then bond it to the mirror surface.
Secondly, I would think of doing it on a regular sheet of glass, and then applying the silvering agent to the back after it's done.