How can I solve the equation ln(x)/ln(x/y)=e^7 using mathematical methods?

• MHB
  • Thread starter lkcl
  • Start date
In summary, the software engineer is trying to solve an equation that is generated by a program called ries. The equation is: ln(x)/ln(x/y) = e^7. The software engineer is having difficulty because the left hand side (ln(x)) is very small and the right hand side (e^7) is very large.
lkcl
dear all,

my apologies if this is the wrong location to post, i am a software engineer whose maths was at A and S-Level back in 1987. i am on the exciting but empirical (iterative) track of the electron's magnetic moment: using a program called ries i have an *exact* matching equation - details are here if anyone'e interested -
Physics Discussion Forum ? View topic - [RFC] mass of electron to measured accuracy to date

the problem is that ries generates its solutions in LHS and RHS randomly, LHS is in terms of x, RHS is not. the equation is:

ln(x)/ln(x/y)=e^7

or, actually, ries came out with it as:

ln(x^(e^7)) / ln(x) = 1/(e^7)

and i need to solve that. it looks to me like it's "log (in base x) of x itself divided by a constant equals a constant!" which is... crazed :)

is there actually a mathematical solution to this, or would it be necessary to use iteration (again)?

thank you for any help.

l.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
achh, i fear this may have been down to a range error in the double-precision floating point of standard computer maths libraries. the left hand side 0.16^e^7 is veeery small (3e-3000)

lkcl said:
dear all,

my apologies if this is the wrong location to post, i am a software engineer whose maths was at A and S-Level back in 1987. i am on the exciting but empirical (iterative) track of the electron's magnetic moment: using a program called ries i have an *exact* matching equation - details are here if anyone'e interested -
Physics Discussion Forum ? View topic - [RFC] mass of electron to measured accuracy to date