How can I understand the Einstein summation convention for vector algebra?

In summary: This is a very basic principle of mathematics, called the distributive property. For example, consider the sum 3(+4)(+5). The parentheses are necessary because 3 and 5 are not like terms--they are both addition operations, but 4 is a multiplication operation. The parentheses let us remember that 3+4+5 is the same as 10. This is an easy property to remember, but it's not easy to apply. It's much easier to remember 3+4+5 than it is to remember 10+8+6. So, by convention, we always write sums of like terms with parentheses, and we write sums of unlike terms without parentheses.
Matt1991
Hi,

I am just starting to learn vector algebra with Grad, Div, Curl etc and have in passing come across Einstein notation which seems to make things much more concise.

The problem I have is in Finding Div(rn r) where r =xi + yj + zk. The unbold r is the magnitude of r.

I have used some basic Einstein notation to make my working shorter but am stuck understanding a certain part of the notation which must be true to lead to the correct answer.

My Working:

[tex] \frac{\partial}{\partial x_{i}}\((r^n x_{i}) [/tex]

product rule:

[tex] = \ nr^{n-1} \frac{\partial r}{\partial x_{i}} x_{i}+r^n \frac{\partial x_{i}}{\partial x_{i}} [/tex]

[tex] = \ nr^{n-1}\frac{x_{i}}{r}x_{i}\

= \ nr^{n} \r \ + \ 3 r^n [/tex]

[tex] = (n+3)r^n [/tex]

My problem is in understanding the step where [tex] \frac{ x_{i} x_{i}}{ r} [/tex] becomes [tex]r[/tex]. For this to happen xixi must be evaluated as x2+y2+z2 (in spatial coordinates) which is the part I am having trouble understanding.

An explanation of this or if somebody could point me towards somewhere where I can get a simple explanation of this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt

PS Sorry if the laTeX is bad. Its my first time using it.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org