How Do I Calculate Motor Specs for an Inverted Pendulum Project?

In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking help for their Diploma project involving building an inverted pendulum and creating a PID controller with an operational amplifier. The student is unsure about how to calculate the motor specifications and is seeking assistance with formulas and discussions. They also mention considering torque as the most important factor in their project.
Ele38
Hi to everyone.
This is my second dissussion in the forum (it does not exist a presentation section, right? ), and I need your help for my Diploma project.
Since I am studying Electronics&Telecommunications, my idea about that project is to build an inverted pendulum and tomake a PID controller able to stabylize the pendulum.
The base of the project is a Microchip's AN, here's the link http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/AppNotes/00964A.pdf
Unlike Microchip engineers, I want to make a PID controller with operational amplifier, I think that is a better project fo my senior year.
Here is my problem.
Reading the AN, there is written that we need a motor which must be able, at least, to accelerate as fast as the pendulum can fall.
I have no idea about how to calculate the motor's specs (torque, rpm, ... ) I have a 120 rpm motor, but I do no think that will be ok for the project.
Does someone can help me? I would need formulas, since I have mathematics at the oral test for the diploma, it could be good to have something to discuss (even if there is a lot of mathematics in the PID :D )
Thank you very much ;)

Engineering news on Phys.org
I thought about something today.
What is really important to me? Torque or rpm? I think torque, since is in N*m I can calculate the Force that the motor applies to the cart and using the formula F=m*a I am able to calculate the acceleration of the cart.
Am I mad or it can work?

FAQ: How Do I Calculate Motor Specs for an Inverted Pendulum Project?