How Do I Customize Parameters in a Simulink Engine Model?

In summary: If the response is not what you expected, you may need to check your equations and make sure they are correct.In summary, to enter your own values in your Simulink engine model, you need to double click on the component you want to edit and enter the values in the parameters window. Make sure to check your equations if the model response is not what you expected.
Jones1987

Homework Statement

I am modelling an engine, I have attached a picture of my model. It is the basic engine model that comes with Simulink, with my attachments included.

My question is, how and where do I enter my own values? I'm pretty new to using Simulink, so I don't really know where to go.

When I run the model I get given a response. This is a single geared system, as I have to add multiple gears later, however I'm sure this response is not the correct result I want.

Homework Equations

Equations used for the wheel model; Thrust = (Omega_dot - Inertia) / Radius of wheel
Equation used for vehicle model; Accel = Thurst / Mass

The Attempt at a Solution

Attachments

• Engine Model.png
    Engine Model.png
    24.9 KB · Views: 485
Physics news on Phys.org
The first thing you need to do is open the Simulink model. To do this you should double click on the .slx file. You should then see the model displayed, with all the components and connections between them. To enter your own values, you need to double click on the component that you wish to edit. This will bring up a window with all the parameters for the component. Here, you can enter the values that you want and then click OK to apply them. Once you have applied all the values you need, you can then run the model and view the response.

FAQ: How Do I Customize Parameters in a Simulink Engine Model?

1. What is Simulink?