How Do You Calculate Maximum Car Speed Against Resistance and Incline?

In summary, we have a car of mass 750kg with a maximum power of 30kW and a constant resistance to motion of 800N. The maximum speed of the car is 37.5m/s when moving on level ground and maintaining a constant speed against the resistance force. The kinetic energy remains constant at maximum velocity. The equation used to calculate the speed is v = P/F, where P is the maximum power provided by the car and F is the resistance force.
Traycee John

Homework Statement

A car of mass 750kg has a maximum power of 30kW and moves against a constant resistance to motion of 800N. Find the the maximum speed of the car:
i) on level
ii) Up an incline of S-1 1/10 to the horizontal

Homework Equations

K.E = 1/2mv2
GPE = mgh

The Attempt at a Solution

I am not sure how to approach this problem as I am just learning about the topic of Energy and Power on my own for a course to get extra creds. I've looked in a couple texts and online to get an idea of how to approach these kind of equations but they all leave me confused. How would you approach this question? Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
You must have some thoughts on this. What are they? If the speed of the car is v, in terms of v, how much power is being exerted against the constant resistance?

Chestermiller said:
You must have some thoughts on this. What are they? If the speed of the car is v, in terms of v, how much power is being exerted against the constant resistance?

Well, so far, what I think I got is the force the car uses to accelerate which is mg (750*9.8). Using the equation Power=F*v, I guess the velocity would be v=P/F?

Traycee John said:
Well, so far, what I think I got is the force the car uses to accelerate which is mg (750*9.8). Using the equation Power=F*v, I guess the velocity would be v=P/F?