How Do You Calculate Orbital Dynamics in a Simple Java Simulation?

In summary, both the sun and the Earth need to orbit that point once every 365.2475 days in order for everything to stay in balance. If you don't do this, then you will see errors in your calculations. To keep the center of mass in the same place, you can use one of several methods.
whatisreality
I'm an undergrad (so my simulation is VERY simple), writing a java program to simulate the solar system. And I'm a bit stuck on how to calculate a couple of important things.

I'm literally right at the start of this, with just a sun and an earth. Initially I had my Earth going round my stationary sun in circles. It worked fine, in the sense that after a year the Earth was back where it started - or the same distance away at least.

Now I've tried to get the Earth and sun to orbit a common centre of mass. This has not worked. It was fairly easy to work out where their centre of mass is, and adjust their initial positions so that the centre of mass is at the origin.
Now it's occurred to me that I don't know what their velocities relative to this centre of mass are. Will Earth's velocity be its orbital velocity? How do I find the velocity of the sun about this common centre of mass? Will the centre of mass stay in the same place?

Thanks for any help!

Physics news on Phys.org
Both the sun and the Earth need to orbit that point once every 365.2475 days. So 2πR / 365.2475 days.

There are several ways to do this.

One simple way is to start with the sun at rest at the origin, just like you did before, but now let all bodies (Sun and Earth) accelerate according to Newtons law of gravitation. If you then calculate the center of mass and plot it over time you should see the center of mass move in a straight line to within your error of integration. If it does, you can now simply plot the orbit of the bodies relative to the center of mass. If it doesn't, you know you should check your integration procedure.