How Do You Calculate Stress on a Point in 3D Mechanics of Materials?

• Thread starter Bluestribute
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Point
In summary, to solve problems involving finding the state of stress on a point in 3D, you will need to use the equations for normal stress, shear stress, and torsion stress. The normal stress corresponds to the force acting normal to the plane, the shear stress corresponds to the force acting parallel to the plane, and the torsion stress corresponds to the torque acting on the body.
Bluestribute
So I'm studying for an upcoming Mechanics of Materials exam. Gotta ace it! Anyways, I'm having trouble with these types of problems. Finding state of stress on a point in 3D. This picture comes from: http://www.academia.edu/6204133/Chapter_09

Which has worn shown, but not explanations. I have two questions to start, but hopefully more will surface and get answered . . .

1) I always have trouble finding Q and I don't know why. Does anyone have a solid equation or "explanation for dummies"? It's just the centroid-to-center-of-area distance, right?

2) Which equation to use and what it corresponds to. I think what would really help is just, what does each equation mean in terms of stress. For example, I know Normal Stress is σ = F/A, and I know it acts parallel to the plane it's on (so σx points in the X direction).

I think using this problem as an example could work. Also, feel free to move this if it's in the wrong place.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 382
Physics news on Phys.org