How Is the Michaelis-Menten Equation Applied in Enzyme Kinetics?

In summary, the conversation is about a student struggling with enzyme kinetics and needing help with a practice problem involving the Michaelis-Menten equation. The problem involves finding the reaction velocity at different substrate concentrations and using the equation V = (Vmax ) / (Km + [S]) to solve it. For part a, the reaction velocity is found to be 10 umoles/min and for part b it is 20 umoles/min.
ryguy
Hey, I'm a newbie here. :smile: Just wanted to say this is a really great site. Lots of informative stuff!

Anyway, my midterm is coming up and I'm having trouble grasping enzyme kinetics. I'm familiar with the Michaelis - Menten equation, but I don't know how this equation is applied since we never went through any practice problems in class. For example here is a question.

An enzyme catalyzes a reaction at a velocity of 20 umoles/min when the concentration of substrate is 0.01M. The Km for this substrate is 1X10^-5M. Assuming that Michaelis-Menten kinetics are followed, what will the reaction velocity be when the concentration of substrate is:

a)1X10^-5M

b)1X10^6M

So for part a:

Km = 1X10^-5M
= 1X10^-5M
Vmax = 20umoles/min?

and we have to find V-inital?

or is V-initial = 20umoles/min?

Help is greatly appreciated!

Chemistry news on Phys.org
For part a, the equation you can use is V = (Vmax ) / (Km + ). Since = Km for this part, then the reaction velocity would be V = (Vmax[Km])/(Km + Km) = Vmax/2 = 10 umoles/min. For part b, the equation is still the same, but this time = 1X10^6M so V = (Vmax[1X10^6M])/(Km + 1X10^6M) = Vmax = 20 umoles/min.

Hi there! Glad to hear you're finding this site helpful. Enzyme kinetics can definitely be a tricky topic, so don't worry if you're having trouble grasping it. It's great that you're reaching out for help.