How much study time is needed to excel in high school science subjects?

• Thread starter prime-factor
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary: Chemistry is going well so far. I'm doing well in the lab and the teacher says that I have a lot of potential. Physically, I find it difficult because I don't have a lot of control over the movements of my body, so I have to be very precise when doing the experiments.Physically, I find it difficult because I don't have a lot of control over the movements of my body, so I have to be very precise when doing the experiments.
prime-factor
Hi All.
I am starting Grade 12 (Australia) in literally 1 week.
My aim is to study medicine after finishing my final year of school this year.
The subjects I am studying this year are:

>>Maths
>>Advanced Maths
>>Physics
>>Chemistry
>>Biology
>>English (compulsory)

I am interested to know from your experience how you learned for your subjects (or are learning) and how much time you think is best to spend studying in order to maximize chances of doing well in these subjects( I want to become a doctor and need to do very well).

Any advice on ways to approach different subjects and good habits to acquire would be appreciated. Also from your experience what works best for you?

Physics news on Phys.org
study till you are enjoying the topic, then take a break. Unnecessarily sticking to the book seldom fruits results. In my case, i can sit for anything from 10 min to 2 hours(depending on the topic).

Good advice there. That's the same with me. I make sure I enjoy what I am studying, and it has worked so far :)

I'm also in year 12 in Australia, but we officially started the year in the beginning of 4th term - unless you live somewhere other than NSW which uses a different system?

- Ext 1 Maths
- Ext 2 Maths
- Physics
- Chemistry
- General English