How To Measure Amoung Of Energy Released

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's lack of expertise in physics and their idea of using Einstein's E = MC2 formula in calculating the energy used when a baseball is thrown. However, another participant in the conversation corrects the speaker's calculations and suggests using the equation E=mv2/2 to calculate the kinetic energy of the baseball. The conversation ends with the speaker realizing their mistake and attempting to use the correct equation.
phoenix_1326
To start with, I have never been in a physics class, nor am I an engineer. I am a computer programmer, and I love the science channel, so at best I am a bad amateur in this field of study. That being said...

I was thinking about calculations that could be used in games like Angry Birds, and I thought back to Einstein's E = MC2. I understand this formula is used to calculate the TOTAL energy released when mass is annihilated, but I thought there might be a way of using this formula to calculate the energy used when say a baseball is in flight. I had what I thought was a eureka moment when I came up with E = MC2 / A where A is the actual MPH the baseball is thrown at.

I looked up the mass of a baseball: 142 g. As I understand it, that makes M = .142
C = ~186,282
The pitcher can throw at 95 mph, so A = 95

As such...
E =.142(186,2822) / 95 = .142(34,700,983,524) / 95 = 4,927,539,660.408 / 95 = 51,868,838.53061053

E = ~5.27 Joules...or something like that

This of course is where I have run into a major issue. I have no idea if I am even looking at this problem the right way, or how it translates into even the digital world (let alone the real world where...according to other posts on this site...the "springy-ness" of the material comes into play as well as the size of the material vs. the size of the point of impact...ok, the head ache just hit).