I know the very basic principles of logs

• Thread starter lloydowen
  • Start date
So, in summary, the conversation was about solving a logarithmic equation involving the values 'x' and 'b'. The participants discussed different methods of rearranging the equation to isolate 'x' and ultimately came to a solution. The participants also discussed the use of algebraic letters and actual numbers in solving the equation.
lloydowen

Homework Statement

I'm new to logs. I know the very basic principles of logs, unfortunately my notes are not helping my on this occasion. What I have so far is Solve the value 'x'

Homework Equations

6^(x+3)=56.34

The Attempt at a Solution

Here's what I have done, and I'm not sure where to go from here so could someone explain?

log6^(x+3)=log5.34
(x+3)log6=log56.34
(x+3)log6=1.751
------

Not sure if I've done it correctly, and I'm not sure where to go from next :/

If you have seen me asking a lot of questions tonight, I have an exam next week and I'm just getting ready for it :)

Physics news on Phys.org

Good. Now you have an equation of the form

[tex](x+3)b=c[/tex]

Solve for x.

micromass said:
[tex](x+3)b=c[/tex]

Solve for x.

So, the next line would be xlog6 +3log6 = 1.751

Yes or no?

I'm guessing on your first line, you meant log56.34 (since that's what you put on the next line, which is correct).

You have got it right so far. From here, its simple rearrangement to get x.

Edit: Sorry, I started writing this before micromass posted, so I am a little behind here.

yes, that would be the next line (although you could instead have divided both sides by b), but you get the right answer either way.

lloydowen said:

Yes or no?

Yes.

lloydowen said:
Here's what I have done, and I'm not sure where to go from here so could someone explain?

log6^(x+3)=log5.34
(x+3)log6=log56.34
(x+3)log6=1.751
------
As already noted, the first line above has a typo.
lloydowen said:

Yes or no?

micromass said:
Yes.