Ideal time spent on 1 question -- need some advice

• Studying
  • Thread starter barcodeIIIII
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary: Then start working on it.In summary, it takes about 30 minutes to solve an average problem on your own.
barcodeIIIII
I am an undergraduate student (moving to last year this September). I found out that on my third year, I needed much more time to work on assignments and exam questions compared to 2nd year. I think I am kind of slow and a little bit worried in the last year that things might get out of control.

So my question is how long does it take for you guys to solve a question like this for example ?
(Griffiths, Introduction to Electrodynamics 4th ed, page 147, example 3.9)
A specified charge density $$\sigma_o(\theta) $$ is glued over the surface of a spherical shell of radius R. Find the resulting potential inside and outside the sphere.

It took me 27 minutes to complete the rough work (without looking at solutions& no interruption )and i need 4-5 minutes to present it "nicely" on a new piece of paper.. some assignment questions will take me hours or days.

In short, how long does it take for you guys to solve a question of average difficulty (your own standard)? any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think this is perfectly normal and nothing to worry about (You may even be solving them faster than average). I rarely manage to do a question in less than 30 min. If one looks at the solution of that question it's actually quite long so 30 min isn't a long time at all.
The exercises I learn the most from I often spent an or several days on and often solving them in several different ways (In your example, you could do the integration method as well!).